Supplements
                Unsigned Heaven     Travel World     The Cheers News     Forum    



“A-TEAM” ACTION HERO BREAKS OUT INTO WORLD OF BOOKS

thecheers.org    2008-02-19 03:19:56    

In anticipation of the major worldwide launch of their Mr. T graphic novel in summer 2008, British publisher Mohawk Media has announced that they are celebrating with a special Limited Advance Edition.
In anticipation of the major worldwide launch of their Mr. T graphic novel in summer 2008, British publisher Mohawk Media has announced that they are celebrating with a special Limited Advance Edition.

With a total number of only 4,000 copies, Mr. T: Limited Advance Edition is now available. It marks the return to prominence of Mr. T, the Mohawk muscleman who was voted the fourth “Greatest American” in a recent global BBC poll, muscling in front of the likes of Thomas Jefferson, George Washington, Benjamin Franklin and Franklin D. Roosevelt.

‘It’s great to be the star of a graphic novel’, says Mr. T. ‘And great entertainment is always driven by great writing!’

Mr. T continues: ‘There’s my long-time fans, but there’s also a new generation because of “A-Team” reruns, my cartoon show reruns, and the renewed interest in “Rocky III” following the recent sequel. That’s humbling, and this graphic novel is my method of reaching them all. I’m so proud of all my life’s work, but to see myself in this book feels extra special.’

Author Christopher Bunting adds: ‘We’ve seen comebacks happen over and over again in the entertainment industry, whether it's John Travolta, the Spice Girls, or fictitious characters such as Indiana Jones or Rambo. Now it’s Mr. T’s time.’

Bunting continues: ‘I’m often drawn to writing “mystery” dramas, where threads weave a much larger tapestry, with the core being the human journey, in the vein of “Lost” or “Heroes”. Therefore my attention had increasingly turned to novels and scriptwriting, and away from the shrinking comic industry. This graphic novel has been the perfect vehicle. I could approach it as a novel, yet also incorporate the finest elements from comics and television.

‘And besides, when Mr. T calls you personally, wanting you to do it, you don’t dare say no!’

Editor Stuart Buckley adds: ‘This book’s star is already a household name known and loved the world over, making this possibly the world’s highest-profile graphic novel. It’s a call for celebration, hence this Limited Advance Edition.’

Buckley continues: ‘Most so-called “graphic novels” are reprints of comics, the equivalent of cobbling together a bunch of episodes of a TV show and calling it a “movie”; or works that, in their desire to be highbrow, determinedly distance themselves from their comic forefather.

‘Neither makes full use of the inherent potential in graphic novel storytelling. This book – an all-original like Mr. T himself – does.’

Mr. T, who contributes world-exclusive interviews to the graphic novel and acts as its Executive Editor, adds: ‘I’ve always strived to be a good role model to children and adults alike. I can’t think of a better way to do that than by encouraging people to read! What would I say to anyone who doesn’t read my graphic novel? “I pity the fool!” ’

Click for more News about mr.t

TAGS: Entertainment   

The Cheers NEWS is looking for new local reporters


more
Millstone Coffee invites coffee enthusiasts to visit Millstone.com

Millstone Coffee, available nationwide at selected retailers in more than 30 blends, is inviting coffee enthusiasts to visit their website and learn about the journey of a coffee bean. The journey is brought to you on their website at Millstone.com in as detailed form as possible, together with illustrative pictures. Must-visit information page for all coffee lovers.

Ashleigh And Pudsey Support Search For Dog With The Crufts Factor

Household names Ashleigh Butler and Pudsey have helped to launch a new Kennel Club competition, which will find Britain’s most talented dog by asking people to ‘like’ top dog talent on Facebook.

ART GARFUNKEL HAS CANCELLED HIS REMAINING 2012 TOUR DATES
30.Oct 2012
Legendary singer and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame member ART GARFUNKEL has been for...read

Fourth Annual "Hungry Jack Use Up the Box" Recipe Contest
5.Sep 2012
"Over the past three years, we have been inspired by the ways that Hungry Jack ...read

Avril Lavigne To Marry Chad Kroeger
22.Aug 2012
...read



Scott McKenzie, singer of 'San Francisco,' dies

Cosmopolis Movie Review

Ron Palillo Dies

Maleficent - Angelina Jolie’s new movie preview

The Campaign Movie Review





The Cheers magazine: About us | Contact us | The Cheers Story | Advertising
Work with The Cheers: Writers guide | Write for us | Writer application | Reporter application 
The Cheers:Terms and conditions | Privacy policy | Sponsoring | Sitemap
Sister sites: Tech Blog |  Best Auto Zine | Travel destinations by weather | Okai - critical commentary | Stock trading game | Wifi hotspots and wireless laptops | The Daily Bonk | Best Poker Zine | Business thoughts | Political commentary | Most expensive things | World News in ShortTop 10 listsPolitically incorrect blog
Listen: Online radio station
Travel World: World travel locations
Travel: Travel blogs | Travel destinations | Hotel reviews | Beer around the world
Watch: Watch series online
Trade: The Stock game | Trading competitions | Trading education
Entertainment Blogs
Entertainment blog
Copyright © 2004-2012 The Cheers magazine / mr.t





web stats